Three Important Songs

Wow, three songs that are important to me. Writing about this topic is a challenge because I have so many songs that I love and that are important to me. Music in general is important to me and I am not sure that I can narrow it down to three songs. The songs that are important to me are important because they have a special meaning to me. A song might remind me of a specific person, a specific place, a specific feeling, or a specific time in my life. Sometimes I can remember where I was when I heard that song. Sometimes I can even remember who I was with or what happened during a specific song. Nailing down three specific songs is not easy but I will try

  • Mahna Mahna, the 1969 Sesame Street version is a completely nonsensical song that reminds me of my childhood. I loved it the minute I heard it in 1969 and still love it to this day. It is just silly and fun and a little crazy.
  • Want To by Sugarland was playing the very first time I kissed my husband. The song is about taking a chance and changing the dynamic of a relationship from friendship to love.
  • Bless The Broken Road by Rascal Flatts reminds me of the time that it took me to find Mr. Right. While I know that I would not be the same person I am today if I had not had the experiences I had prior to finding him, I still wish that I had met him sooner so we could have more time together and could have shared the joy of having children together.

Okay, that was difficult task. I am sure that there are many, many, many more songs that are important to me in some way, but I cannot think of them right now. I have to hear the actual song for it to bring me back to that place or time when it had that emotional significance.

One thought on “Three Important Songs

Leave a Reply

