I Can’t Write Fiction

Creative Writing

As I’ve said in the past, I want to write a book, a novel. The problem is, I just can’t seem to write fiction. How strange is that?

Growing up, I never had an imaginary friend, and I hated playing “pretend”. I was always reading, or drawing, or building something–usually recreating something I had seen in a book or magazine. And as an adult, I am still doing those things. Even when my children would ask me to play “pretend” with them, I couldn’t do it. I would freeze up. I have a difficult time role-playing.

I’m not saying that I’m not creative, I was a graphic designer for over 20 years. If I am given the elements and an end goal, I can create a design or package. I’m just saying that I have a difficult time envisioning an imaginary world.  I am too grounded in reality.

If you will look back at my Blogging University posts you will see that I only wrote a few posts that required the use of imagination, and really the topic and premise were already supplied to us.

Most of my writing comes from personal stories or experience, which is fine, but I want to be the kind of writer who can sit down and just create my own fictional world, my own story, my own escape. I guess that is why I love to read so much. I really get into the characters and their lives and their worlds because the authors have that innate, creative ability to help me, as a reader, use my minds-eye to envision the world they have created.

I want to be able to do that.

Leave a Reply

